Ek Hazaaron Mein, Meri Behna Hai

Rakhi

Phoolon ka Taaron ka, Sabka Kehna Hai.
Ek Hazaaron main, meri Behna hai.

Another Raksha Bandhan is knocking on the door and I am away from my Didi… missing her and listening to Rakhi Songs…

In this new millenium (since year 2001) we havent been together for Rakhi … Every year I make up my mind that I will get time off for Raksha Bandhan .. but somehow I forget at the end…and only when she reminds me that whether or not I have got the Rakhis sent by her, I wake up again and curse myself. But another year comes and I repeat the same mistake..

Somehow, these sisters are more caring and concerned then their brothers… They are so excited about this festival … My Didi is also very same .. when I was in home … she used to prepare for Rakhi for 2-3 days well in advance … My task was to get the things from bazaar … and she always used to be like

“Roli .. aur Mauli lana nahi bhoolna..”
“Motichoor ke Laddoo hone chahiye…, Doosri Mithayi Laye to Pitoongi”
“Akshat aur Dahi hona chahiye … halwai se bol jana subah subah dahi de jaye”

but she never asked me to get Rakhis, it was always her responsiblity .. all these years I never really saw her going out for shopping Rakhis… but she always had these beautiful Rakhi on the Raksha Bandhan Day.

In childhood I used to hate the day of Raksha Bandhan .. as we needed to get up early in the morning and take a bath … and we used to remain on fast until Didi tied the Rakhi…

But didi was very strict about it… so we didnt used to have much option.

Around 6 she used to wake us ..

“Utho .. jake nahao abhi” .. “Rajesh tum Pahle.. Aur fir Rakesh”
“Aur dono naye kapde pahanana, purane nahi”

After that she used to do some pooja and after that.. she used to apply this Tika on our forehead (made of Akshat, Roli and Dahi).. and then finally used to tie the Rakhi.. which was followed by offering Mothichoor ka laddoo…Now this was my favorite part …eating motichoor ka ladoo… with her hands..

With time ..we all grew up.. and are now seperated by thousand miles … But she is still very same… Come tomorrow .. she will ring me first at 6 am to wake me up … then at 6:30 when I am all prepared.. but she will cross verify .. whether I have worn atleast clean clothes or not … then ask me to tie the Rakhi myself :) .. and I am very much sure that she will be doing some pooja at her end .. praying for long and healthy lives of us…

Guess… however distant we are … this bond wont get affected a little.. because Didi is there at the other end … strengthening it everyday with her prayers and poojas…

Love you Didi and Miss you a lot ..

[ Akshat: Sacred Rice, Mauli: Sacred thread]


TechnoratiTechnorati: , ,

About Rakesh

Hi, This is Rakesh, welcome to my web-log.
This entry was posted in Personal, Religion/Spirituality, Society and Culture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ek Hazaaron Mein, Meri Behna Hai

  1. Manjeet says:

    Same with me! She sends rakhi with kumkum and chawal, packed in a special way so that it fits in the envelope, didis are caring!

  2. Sreejith says:

    i tell u… that post would have definitely made your sister proud :)

  3. utkarsh says:

    Never had a sister to share the Raksha Bandhan with, so there was no great raksha bandhan day for me .. but after reading the post .. i can see what i have been missing on .. Even without a sister .. I am getting senti ..

  4. Srujana says:

    OMG guys!!! That’s so sweet! I wish my lil bother was more like that…………

    best wishes,
    Srujana

  5. rishi says:

    hi, nice article you have,
    can you tell me the name of the song you quoted in the first few lines?
    Phoolon ka Taaron ka, Sabka Kehna Hai.
    Ek Hazaaron main, meri Behna hai.
    thanks!!!

    rishi

  6. mohit singh tyagi says:

    realy we all love our dear sisters

    Dadicated song for thm:
    Phoolon Ka Taaron Ka Sabka Kehna Hai Ek Hazaron Mein Meri Behna Hai Sari Umar Hame Sang Rehna Hai Ye Na Jaana Duniya Ne Tu Hai Kyon Udaas Teri Pyaari Aankhon Mein Pyar Ki Hai Pyaas Aa Mere Paas Aa Keh Jo Kehna Hai Ek Hazaron Mein … Jabse Meri Aankhon Se Ho Gayi Tu Door Tabse Sare Jeevan Ke Sapne Hain Choor Aankhon Mein Neend Na Dil Mein Chaina Hai Ek Hazaron Mein … Dekho Hum Tum Dono Hain Ek Dali Ke Phool Maein Na Bhoola Tu Kaise Mujhko Gai Bhool Aa Mere Paas Aa Keh Jo Kehna Hai Ek Hazaron Mein …

  7. tani thakur says:

    thanx bhai dedicate this song for all loving sisters

  8. pooja mahesh says:

    i love you manvi get well soon you and virat make a nice pair i love your jiju and your di very romantic pair

Leave a Reply

