Fare well friends !!

On the eve of farewell, as we left our respective hostels and walked to the ground in front of library for the ceremony, I did something I always do when I get to the bottom of the hill. I looked forward at the crowd gathered here and at the empty seats that await the class of 2005, and then I looked backward at the smiling faces of excited friends of mine. Four years of memories wash over me and give me a lump in my throat as I realized that this might be the last time when I will see many of them.

I smile, though, as I think of the highlights of our college years just past and of all of the possibilities that lie before us, and I eagerly anticipate the visits and the news we’ll share among us as alums of IIIT.

Farewell gives this mixed feeling as our teachers wistfully say us goodbye and we eagerly say hello to a new college, to work, to new experiences, and new friends. Many of us have already one foot out of the door of this campus, while others are wishing desperately to stay put in the comfort of IIIT. But it is time for all of us to move on.

My batchmates!! I was honored to have friends like you. I have really enjoyed spending time with you and have learnt many things with and from you both academically and personally. We have shared many disappointments and have enjoyed together some of very good times of our lives. We have laughed together – a lot – with some of us possessing marvellous senses of humor😀. We have been part of a special group and shared a special bond amongst us. Studying at IIIT was one of the joys of my life, and there was much here for which to be thankful. Thanks to you all friends for giving me such a terrific company.

Life is a journey meant to be lived, not endured. Love the journey, and enjoy each step. Delight in the ordinary as well as the extraordinary. Savor the simple and marvel at the complicated. Live rather than exist. There is a song that I read somewhere, its lyrics seem appropriate for graduation. I am writing some of the lines here.

I hope you never lose your sense of wonder
You get your fill to eat but always keep that hunger
May you never take one single breath for granted …
I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean…
Never settle for the path of least resistance
Livin’ might mean takin’ chances but they’re worth takin’…
When you come close to sellin’ out reconsider
And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance
I hope you dance

I want all of you to have good lives. Thank you for a superb four years. Good luck, good health, success, and happiness. I wish you all good things. May your all dreams come true.

— Rakesh

About Rakesh

Hi, This is Rakesh, welcome to my web-log.
यह प्रविष्टि Random Ramblings में पोस्ट की गई थी। बुकमार्क करें पर्मालिंक

एक उत्तर दें

